Tunis, 19 January 2016:

The Presidency Council headed by Prime-minister designate has announced the names of members of the government of national unity. The ministers are (in the order announced by Council): the

1. Defence: Al-Mahdi Ibrahim Al-Barghathi

2. Justice: Abdulsalam Mohamed Al-Junaidi

3.  Interior: Aref Saleh Al-Khojja

4. Foreign Affairs: Marwan Ali Abu Sraiweil

5. Finance: Al-Taher Mohamed Sarkaz

6. Local Government: Bidad Gansou Massoud

7. Health: Mohammad Sulaiman Buzzgaiya

8. Education: Khair Milad Abubakr

9. Higher Education and Research: Mahmoud Jumaa Al-Ojili

10. Economy: Abdulmutalib Ahmad Bufarwa

11. Planning: Khaled Muftah Abdulgader

12. International Cooperation: Mahmoud Faraj Al-Mahjoub

13. Communications: Atef Miloud Al-Bahri

14. Transportation: Hisham Abdullah Abushkaiwat

15. Industry: Faraj Al-Taher Senussi

16. Oil: Khalifa Rajab Abdulsadiq

17. Electricity: Usama Saad Hamad

18. Agriculture: Adel Mohammad Sultan

19. Labour: Fadi Mansour Al-Shafi

20. Training and Vocational Training: Mukhtar Abdullah Ojwaili

21. Social Affairs: Ahmad Khalifa Braidan

22. Water Resources: Usama Mohamed Abdulhadi

23. Housing and Utilities: Ali Kosouairdi

24. Youth and Sports: Nureddine Ahmad Al-Traiki

25. Culture: Asma Mustafa Al-Usta

26. Awqaf and Islamic Affairs: Mohamed Ahmad Alwalid

27. Aviation and Air Transport: Said Ahmad Aldabeeb

28. National Reconciliation: Yousef Abubakr Jalala

29. Information: Khaled Abdulhameed Najem

30. Arab and African Affairs: Naser Salem Emhemed

31. Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs: Said Ahmad Al-Marghani

32. Minister of State for Human Rights and Refugees: Saleh Al-Ghazal Al-Junab

The declaration, announced early this morning, was signed by seven of the nine-member Presidency Council. Ali Gatrani (deputy prime minster-designate) and Omar Al-Aswad (Presidency Council minister) had earlier suspended their membership of the council.  They did so in support for General Khalifa Hafter, demanding that the Libyan Political Agreement clause that the Presidency Council take over as supreme commander of the armed forces be dropped and, reportedly in opposition to the appointment of Al-Mahdi Ibrahim Al-Barghathi as defence minister.

The names were selected in collaboration with members of the House of Representatives negotiating on behalf of their towns and areas, not on the basis of competence for the job. This was done to try an ensure that the HoR now votes for the package. It has to do so within ten days, by 29 January.

As a result of thise process, only only one minister is a woman, Asma Mustafa Al-Usta at the culture ministry, and she is said to have been one of the few decided on by Serraj himself.

The deputy ministers will be chosen, again largely on the basis of where they come from will be selected in the next few days.  There will two for each ministry, meaning that the government including the nine members of the Presidency Council will contain 105 ministers.